Humoresque logo web

Humoresque are two classically trained musicians/comics who provide top-quailty theatre shows, background music, and entertainment to suit your needs!


Humoresque formed in 2017. The original line up are Jennie Jacobs and Matt James Barlow.

iconTwitter iconFacebook

Copyright, all rights reserved 2017

Matt James trained at Trinity College of Music, London. A classically trained cellist and pianist, he was the recipient of the Beryl Sears Scholarship. Matt has enjoyed a varied career so far as a session musician, street performer, comedian, actor, singer, comic book artist, film maker, and nude life model. He is also a former member of the National Youth Music Theatre.

Jennie Jacobs trained at The London School of Musical Theatre, representing them at the Stephen Sondheim Society Student Performer of the Year competition in 2011. Since graduating, Jennie has worked in film, theatre, musicals, and plays, as well as a recording artist and cabaret singer. She is also a writer and comic.


Vocal Groups: The Rudy Vees, Graffiti Voices, Opera Girls, Ancora.

Theatre: Mrs Morcom in Guilty of Love (New Wimbledon), Chimera in #Haters (National Tour), Cynthia in Isle of Woman (National Tour), Self in Let's REVUE...with Jacobs and James (Canal Cafe Theatre), Cassie in Content (Theatre 503), Mad Margaret in Ruddigore (Barons Court Theatre), Amy in Vote for Me (London Theatre Workshop), Jade in Dave The Less-Than-Average Fairy (Tristan Bates Theatre), Dr N.H.Service in Dr N.H.Service & Dame Lansley May (Etcetera Theatre), Marie in The Misunderstanding (The Lord Stanley), Pitti-Sing in The Mikado (Buxton G&S Festival), Joanne in Steps (Waterloo East Theatre), Amanda in Bright Lights, Big City (The Bridewell Theatre).

Credits include: NewsRevue (World's Longest Running Comedy Show), Graffiti Classics comedy string quartet, Sid Bowfin and the Bowfins, Stringtease. Backing strings with Lana Del Rey, John Cale.

Jen headshot serious small Matt headshot serious small Humoresque logo web IMG-20180313-WA0008-01